Classic Jazz: The Musicians and Recordings That Shaped Jazz, 1895-1933
Overall Rating:
Total Customer Reviews: (0)
List Price: $22.95
Sale Price: $18.79
Availability: Usually ships in 1-2 business days Price: $18.79 (as of 2017-11-18 10:33:02 GMT) Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Product Description

Classic Jazz explores the birth and early development of a truly American art form. Scott Yanow’s insightful essays describe the very beginnings of jazz, as well as ragtime, early blues, and New Orleans jazz from 1895-1916. Jazz in the years 1917-1933 is examined in greatest detail, highlighting the careers and rating the recordings of the top performers of the day. Musicians covered include: Louis Armstrong, Cab Calloway, Hoagy Carmichael, Bing Crosby, Tommy Dorsey, Duke Ellington, George Gershwin, Benny Goodman, Earl Hines, Gene Krupa, Glenn Miller, Jelly Roll Morton, Bessie Smith, Fats Waller and dozens more. Also includes a listing of recommended books and videos on classic jazz, and 40 black-and-white photos.

Product Details

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Customer Reviews

Tagged with:

Filed under: Violin

Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!